Women Count- Revisited

 

Another Rant by: Bettyjean Kling

 

Hopefully, you all remember that last week I challenged ‘Women Count’ to cease leaning toward Democrats or risk losing our support. I challenged them to count all of us- whether we are left, right or center and stop pigeon holing us by assuming we all need to be reminded that while we do not want Sarah Palin spoken ill of she still has Issues Women Count assumes they have a right to alert us about!  How dare they point these positions out for us as if to say these are our positions or our only issues? We can think for ourselves – we do not want Women count or anyone else reminding us what issues make this particular woman a no no. What are we mindless idiots? By count did you mean in numbers on the democratic ticket? I thought women count meant we count as viable human beings for who we are and how valuable we are just for being women just as we are not right or left  or a number on a ballot. Were you trying to empower us as women or as Democrats ?

 

“Much will be said and written in the days ahead about Gov. Palin’s views on issues, and we urge you to consider these positions with depth and thoughtfulness – she is anti-choice, pro-gun, and pro-big oil.” ~ Women Count’ 

 

 

Well that argument may be moot now at least for outward appearances but let us not be fooled based on what was last week and their failure to admit why the change of heart – I say we be vigilant. In other words – I want to se deeds not just words. Show me the beef!

 

Major parts of the letter for your review are below. I published this letter far and wide after they failed to respond, including their email addresses and urged my readers to write and ask them to join with me in calling for non partisan representation in our women’s groups.  

 

The New Agenda, coincidently got quite a bump at the same time by The Washington Post and low and behold, ‘Women Count’ seems to have gotten the message. Unfortunately, they did not give credit where credit was due – that would be me and you folks. Keep up the good work – we are after all THE women who count!

 

* NOTE : The New Agenda: Amy Siskind refuses interview with MSNBC until there is a public apology by both Oberman and Matthews to America women for their sexism.

Way to go Amy!

Our new campaign: “i’m a woman. i have issues.”

 

I would like t think this was one of the letters the new campaign was designed around:

 

I went to you site today and while you are willing to defend Sarah against sexism I detect you are also cautioning us to remember she is a Republican and reminding us to keep her right wing policies in mind – as if anyone will let us forget them. Are you still leaning left?

 

Much will be said and written in the days ahead about Gov. Palin’s views on issues, and we urge you to consider these positions with depth and thoughtfulness – she is anti-choice, pro-gun, and pro-big oil. 

 

Since you asked for our opinion and if you visit my blog https://freemenow.wordpress.com/2008/09/20/choice-and-change/ and read the comments I and others are getting you will see that women are tired of choosing one side or the other and want to be free of this reminder altogether now. If women really count – then count all women – women from both sides of the aisle.

 

I was hoping you WomenCount would stay neutral. I have been barraged by women group mail and email that berates the right and their views and then I get the same treatment from the left denigrating the left for theirs. It will never end and we will never move forward or be free so long as we are held hostage to this game. I must say that women today are only exposed to the extremes from both sides and that is simply not fair. This is what keeps women from truly moving ahead. Can’t we just be women instead of left or right – just this once – can we try it on for size and see if we like the way it fits?

 

I have just joined The New Agenda which promises to be non partisan. You can either lean toward the Dems or come to the middle but my support both financially and through my outreach on blog talk radio, my newsletters, my website, my email and blogs – I am going concentrate my efforts and support toward those where women will be most empowered to be free and not held back nor compelled to walk lockstep with others against gaining positions in government which will truly give them the power to chart their own destinies and that of their daughters and granddaughters.

 

If you agree that we need women’s groups to be non partisan, reach out to the founders of Women Count and encourage them to Free US Now and let us choose without prejudice. I know these women and their hearts are in the right place. They started out like us wanting things to be fair for Hillary but we are all women and it needs to be fair for all of us. The DNC made it impossible for Hillary- Let’s not punish Sarah and all women for god knows how long while we reward the DNC at the same time for what they did! Who will dare to run a woman again after this?

 

*Please blog this far and wide – cross post and let Women Count know you appreciate this change of heart.

stacy@womencount.org

2 Responses

  1. rant on.

  2. Women Count can pack sand as far as I am concerned. I will no longer support them….let all those wealthy politicians pay for their left leanings!

Leave a comment