Rosa Sat – We sit and wait

Another Rant by Bettyjean Kling

I just got home from a grueling 10 hour emergency room event with my daughter. I had nothing more on my mind than my baby all day. I finally got her tucked in and decided to check my email and try to ease my mind and find a friendly email or something soothing when I get this email from Brave New Foundation!  It made me want to riffle through her medicine bag for some drugs- is there no peace for the weary – not a moment of peace?

The headline read:

Rosa sat, so Martin could walk. Martin walked, so Obama could run. Obama is running, so our children can fly.” -Ed Welch, quoting a text message from a friend, on NPR’s All Things Considered, 10/28/08

I would have liked it better if they would have just ignored Rosa in the first place – but no – since she was black they had to throw her in there but notice she just sat!  No words can express the amount of tears I shed over the words Rosa sat!

If I even have to explain what brought me to such tears – then I will have wasted my time turning to this blog to write this piece at all.

So here I am again ready to drop but yet I am tapping till my fingers fall off asking are we ready to march yet? You see it seems that until we get off our asses and march so that someone can successfully run — our daughters will never fly!

Meet me Monday Night and let’s decide how to get started! Please? Girl children are valuable too! They deserve to fly. They never will unless we make it so for them. Are we going to sit so more men can march, so another man can run, so his children can fly again and again and again? Whose next before us? 

And now for another shameless plug for ladies night radio!  Join us! We are ready to do something to lift ourselves- Come There is strength in numbers

 

FreeUsNowPassERA Radio Mondays 8pm est 

Link is –   http://www.blogtalkradio.com/FreeMeNow

Call-in Number: (347) 838-8011

6 Responses

  1. Not only did Rosa just sit, but the original suffragists were blocking traffic and arrested (that was sarcasm). A very Powerful point you are making.

    Barack Obama appears to have avoided visiting his dying mother and instead went to Bali to write his first book (which was already past deadline by a year or two). When not in Bali, he was in Chicago schmoozing his way onto various boards of foundations.

    This was BEFORE they had kids. I really really wanted to know what it was that Barack Obama and Michelle Obama did that was more important than being closer to mom in her final year on the planet.

    Your point reinforces the stupidity of Obamabots who think Rosa only sat, even as Barack Obama ignored his birth mother dying days to go write a tribute to his sperm donor father and further his own career.

    http://www.DailyPUMA.com

  2. Great points BJ!

  3. Obama is milking his black heritage for all it is worth. If he claimed his white blood, it would not be historically significant. That is why he ignored his mother and exhaulted a father who cared little for his own son. What is that saying to black women who hold the family together while black men father children and abandon them in droves. Are black women too naive to realize they have more in common with white women than they have with black men. Apparently so since they helped a black man who cared nothing for advancing their lives to become president over Hillary Clinton who puts the plight of women and children uppermost in her public service. But that is no different than white women who worship at the feet of men who continue to put them down. To want to be accepted for our intelligence and abilities is not demeaning males and women need to wake up to the fact that they do not have to worship men to take a valued place in this world.

  4. The comments made by lee,sarasota and Allessandro Machi are so powerful I can’t add anything to them.

    Obviously, there is a lot of work to be done!

  5. Don’t get too worked up, BJ. You are probably overtired and stressed out. Listen to some classical music. I not only like Beethoven, I like Dvorzak a lot too. Brahms might be easy on your soul.

    I thought the weirdest think about the quote was Obama running. Yeah – he’s running from the lawyers who would like him to show his papers!

    *sigh*

    You’re the greatest. Look forward to what we women all still can and will do and don’t focus on the absurd. Thre will be TONS of it during an Obama dictatorship!

  6. YOU KNOW IT’S TO BAD YOU LADIES COULD NOT HAVE COME TO THIS CONCLUSITION MONTHS AGO,SO I WILL SAY I TOLD YOU SO!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment