Obama Tried To Stall GIS’ IRAQ Withdrawl

 

WHILE campaigning in public for a speedy withdrawal of US troops from Iraq, Sen. Barack Obama has tried in private to persuade Iraqi leaders to delay an agreement on a draw-down of the American military presence.

 

According to Iraqi Foreign Minister Hoshyar Zebari, Obama made his demand for delay a key theme of his discussions with Iraqi leaders in Baghdad in July. “He asked why we were not prepared to delay an agreement until after the US elections and the formation of a new administration in Washington,” Zebari said in an interview.

 

Obama insisted that Congress should be involved in negotiations on the status of US troops – and that it was in the interests of both sides not to have an agreement negotiated by the Bush administration in its “state of weakness and political confusion.”

“However, as an Iraqi, I prefer to have a security agreement that regulates the activities of foreign troops, rather than keeping the matter open.” Zebari says.

 

Though Obama claims the US presence is “illegal,” he suddenly remembered that Americans troops were in Iraq within the legal framework of a UN mandate. His advice was that, rather than reach an accord with the “weakened Bush administration,” Iraq should seek an extension of the UN mandate.

 

View Full Article:

http://www.nypost.com/seven/09152008/postopinion/opedcolumnists/obama_tried_to_stall_gis_iraq_withdrawal_129150.htm?&page=1

 

 Also visit Riverdaughter Posted on by garychapelhill:

http://riverdaughter.wordpress.com/2008/09/15/obama-appears-to-use-us-soldiers-as-pawns-to-win-the-presidency/

4 Responses

  1. I have been a good democrat for 42 years. I have NEVER voted other than democratic in a presidential election. I made up my mind months ago that I will not vote for Obama. But I have had a real struggle in deciding wether to vote for McCain. I was going to leave the top blank or write Hillary in, or vote for someone else. But with everything I have learned this week I cannot take a chance on Obama winning. I’m afraid with the type of paper ballot that my town uses that it could be tampered with. So, I am taking a hugh step for me and declaring my vote for John McCain. Heavon help our democracy when we democrats have to resort to ths! My only consolation is that I am doing it for my country.

  2. You are one good Patriot – I know how hard this is for you – and for so many others but you are doing this for your country and I for one am so proud of you! Thank you Patriot Nancy! We must win this fight and I believe we will just as in any war – it is never easy – it is never pretty but it must be done! Thank you!

  3. I have already posted on this and seriously believe that this is the most appalling act by a candidate ever.

    The ethics of this guy could be vastly improved by talking to Richard Nixon.

    I can not imagine the US having a leader with such a cavalier attitude to human life.

  4. Where is the press on this story? If confirmed, this would derail his candidacy.

Leave a comment