BJ: Flood reporting from Lodi, NJ

BettyJean Kling

My husband Dick (that’s his name as well as his reputation as a husband) is in PA- the world’s greatest husband refused to come to NJ to help me during the hurricane. Then he called today to tell me that he made the right call since he wasn’t needed here anyway because he heard Irene didn’t hit Bergen County!

Well Marc and I made our way to an area where we could get to the bridge over the main street in our town about 1/2 mile from where I live in NJ and show him just how right he was and how safe we were here. We wanted to assure him he was absolutely right about leaving us to fend for ourselves, so we made  sure to document the conditions here.

Again the videos were shot within a short walk from our home. Our sewers are still backing up into our aqpartment, and have been since this 11 Sunday morning. We can’t use our water or flush our toilets yet and there is a big tree threatening our house and garage.

I am so lucky to have a hubby who knew we would be safe from this hurricane and didn’t want to be another person to worry about.  Bless his caring heart!

Louisa, a TBI patient who can’t talk, or move on her own is in Bergen Region Medical Center in Paramus- there have been without power all day- just emergency generators in the hallways and in critical care units etc. I didn’t know where to be first- by the time I got there she had been so neglected — I cried for 3 hours.

Here in Lodi, the National Guard is boating up and down Main Street in rubber dingies hauling folks out of apartments and houses and we are not expecting a dry-out for several days.

Dick informs me – they got a bit of rain out in Central PA and the wind whipped up to about 15 MPH but he says he is fine. I am sure glad he didn’t ask us to jump in the car to come help him out- we won’t be leaving Lodi for a while. Ever hear that old song: Oh Lord – we’re stuck in Lodi—AGAIN?

That’s ok – he really is safer if we stay 225 miles apart right now. Every-time we turn that wet-dry vac on to suck sewage out of our aparyment  – something inside me wants to wrap the electric cord around his throat and pull hard, very hard and  for a very long time.

Hey Dick paddle through that 1/2  inch of rain you got out in Central PA and have someone hook you up and show you these video’s,  I know you are losing sleep worrying about all of us out here ~ NOT~!

Note for those of you who don’t read the comments:

Here is a list of a some of the fun Dick missed out on:

  • 1- The 86 year old mother suffering heart failure
  • 2- The disabled daughter in the nursing home without power
  • 3- The grandchildren some of whom were located in the flood
  • 4- The flooding basement at our rental home
  • 5- The flooding basement and the sewage backed up in our house
  • 6- General help with batting down the hatches before Irene came
  • 7- Comfort and support while the electric is out
  • 8- Tenants calling for help with flooding basements
  • 9- Cleaning up after the storm
29 Responses

  1. “…..That’s ok – he really is safer if we stay 225 miles apart right now …”

    ROTFLMAO

    Am sorry bj but this struck my funny bone. Not the least because, misery loves company. Mine sits on the couch, contemplates the work, gets tired at the thought and takes a nap.

    And oh, to have that225 miles, too. lol

    Love ya,

    Adrianne

    • A,
      It’s one of those times that a little levity goes a damned long way my friend! I am still hoping he finds a way to read this post and the comments!

      I am hoping he makes his way over to his old job and gets one of the office folks to bring it up on the computer for him .
      He will tell them he has videos to show them about where his wife is stuck and they can all read what a Dick he is.
      I’ll get the last laugh and … well I can dream can’t I?

  2. I reposted to my FB page. Great vid! So sorry, but not surprised that Lodi hasn’t yet solved the problem of the Saddle River. What can we expect from a town that’s so corrupt and runs on nepotism and the Peter Principle (in which people rise to their highest level of incompetence)! I can see why you’re picking on hubby, but frankly, I wish I had a hubby or a beau. It sure would ease the burden of having my disabled brother by myself, just to have someone to talk to. I realize everything is relative, though… Big hug to you!!!

  3. Thats men for you glad i do not have one

  4. J,

    Lodi just put in a whole new downtown – you would have thought- they wouldn’t have put it in so low but that is Lodi – the same flood zones. Just 46 where these videos were taken from are above the flood zones.

    You entirely missed my point about having a hubby! If you think having one would necessarily ease the burden of having a disabled brother perhaps you missed the points I should have specifically laid out in this piece?

    My do death do us part partner refused to come help with some of the following which I should have and now have listed above:

    1- The 86 year old mother suffering heart failure
    2- The disabled daughter in the nursing home without power
    3- The grandchildren some of whom were located in the flood
    4- The flooding basement at our rental home
    5- The flooding basement and the sewage backed up in our house
    6- General help with batting down the hatches before Irene came
    7- Comfort and support while the electric is out
    8- Tenants calling for help with flooding basements
    9- Cleaning up after the storm

    THEN TO CALL AND SAY HE HEARD WE MISSED THE HURRICANE…

    Honey if you still want a hubby or beau- I’ll give you mine! He is very good looking and built like a brick shithouse. Wanna a picture?

    • I understood exactly what you were complaining about. That’s why I said everything is relative. I would’ve dumped him after #2!!

  5. Dear, dear BJ,

    We are getting only spotty realistic news here in FL, so hadn’t heard about the hit that Lodi and you took!

    What a nasty mess you are facing. Wanna get away from it to our little nest here in FL–bedroom,bath to yourself ? The planes are now airborne..

    727 393 0932

    sandyo@passERA.org Love you, Bj!

    • Oh SandyO- you are so sweet- thank you so much for the offer. One of these days you may find me on your doorstep now that I know that!
      heheheh- we are clearing up a lot sooner than the rest of the area and Louisa’s home has its electricity back and we are ok here.
      Thanks you again.
      I am fine – I just wanted to embarass that Dick of mine!

  6. So sorry BJ. anything I can please let me know. I think you should take sandy up on her offer…Florida sounds good to me.
    The “man “of the house in NY, his name is Not Dick..BUT he’s 21..spent his preparation time…taping his 36 pack of beer with electrical tape, so the carton would not give way if it got wet if he had to carry it to his friends house in the rain. He left the house with no taped windows with his grandfather in a wheelchair, mother and me for the night to party with his friends. So see Dicks are everywhere.
    my thoughts and prayers as always are with you.

  7. BJ,

    I was just getting ready to email you and see how you were doing when I got the link.

    So sorry about the hubby… he really sucks!

    I am glad that everyone is doing okay, really inconvenienced but all still there.

    Sending you good vibes and prayers.

    XOXOXOXO

  8. BJ,

    So sorry about the hubby… he really sucks!

    I am glad that everyone is doing okay, really inconvenienced but all still there.

    Sending you good vibes and prayers.

    XOXOXOXO

  9. 😳 sorry for the double post.

  10. So TELL US Has DICK seen the video??? and what does Dick have to say?

    • I sent the video to his friends who assured me they would show it to him- but he hasn’t shown up yet to view them. Once he sees them and reads the documentry that goes with it– I’m sure he will have plenty to say about how I embarassed him!

  11. where is dick now? not very supportive…he needs to bring you red flowers and take you on vacation

    • They better not be roses – I know just what to do with the thorns and he would not be safe on a vaca with me- I say – he stays and cleans the floors while Marc and I go on a vaca! whaddayathink?

  12. ((((BJ))))

    We are doing okay. I am finding out more than I care to about public medical services. We had a little scare with hubby, he is doing better now.

    Not having insurance really is a PITA, but I still thank the good Lord for County Medical services. It really was an eye opening experience about what Obambi care will be like. 😯

    I am very relieved to hear that you are getting ahead of the damage and that Louisa’s place got power back.

    I don’t care one wit what dick may have to say, he was remiss in all ways. Most of all in what he promised in his wedding vows.

    I think you should take Sandy O up very soon, you need a break!

    XOXOXO

  13. Could I suggest another strategy – tell him about the mystery man. You know the Knight in Shining Armour who is helping you out in a big way 🙂
    Maybe that will set your hubby on fire and get him rushing to Lodi, New Jersey.
    In the mean time, I leave you with this song –

  14. Great song, great video and great idea.

    It worked- guess who just showed up?

  15. ::::: THUD:::::

    Did Dick finally get there???

    • Yup- his friends in PA and his brother all called and told him about the story being all over the internet.
      Not sure what impact that had but he’s here now!

      In his defence- he did have a heart attack last Feb- so besides for being at my side and being moral support and doing some shopping etc .

      In any event — he got here just in time to do our fantasy football picks last night- he has no computer at home. I do believe we have a winning team!

  16. I visited multiple sites but the audio feature for audio songs present at this web page is in fact fabulous.

  17. I love what you guys tend to be up too. Such
    clever work and coverage! Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  18. Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post.
    Thanks for providing this info.

Leave a Reply

