Holiday Wishes

From Barbara

To All My Democrat Friends:

Please accept with no obligation, implied or implicit, my best wishes for an environmentally conscious, socially responsible, low-stress, non-addictive, gender-neutral celebration of the winter solstice holiday, practiced within the most enjoyable traditions of the religious persuasion of your choice, or secular practices of your choice, with respect for the religious/secular persuasion and/or traditions of others, or their choice not to practice religious or secular traditions at all. I also wish you a fiscally successful, personally fulfilling and medically uncomplicated recognition of the onset of the generally accepted calendar year 2011, but not without due respect for the calendars of choice of other cultures whose contributions to society have helped make America great. Not to imply that America is necessarily greater than any other country nor the only America in the Western Hemisphere. Also, this wish is made without regard to the race, creed, color, age, physical ability, religious faith or sexual preference of the wishee.

 
To My Republican Friends:

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

 

 

38 Responses

  1. LOL ur funny! Merry Christmas and Happy Ho Ho Ho to you!

  2. LOL Barbara!

    Reminded me of Kurt Vonnegut’s short story, Harrison Bergeron (see also the movie 2081).
    The government office of the Handicapper General makes sure no one is smarter, more beautiful, more talented, etc., than anyone else, by imposing “equalizing” handicaps to level the playing field.
    Need a gift for your wacko PC liberal friends?
    2081 is available on DVD!

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, from a reader who loves all sorts of parties, just not political ones 🙂

  3. I love it and will check the DVD- glad you are still getting news of the blog- but you are opted out of the newsletter – did you know that?

    • I’m woefully behind with reading but always find time to catch up with FMN.
      Bookmarked and on my list- the show you did with Phylis Chesler.
      Thanks for keeping on, Betty Jean-and Merry Christmas!

  4. Hey Persephone
    That sounds funny.. I will check it out. We can all use
    a few laughs.
    I am so happy to see you. I hope all is well with you.

    Wishing you a Merry Blessed Christmas
    And a wonderful Happy New year 2011!!

    • Barb

      2081/Bergeron is not funny ha-ha.
      It’s creepy tale of PC gone wild.

      The Handicaps Minister in the Vonnegut novel eerily reminds me of Kathleen Sebelius.

      I wonder if Nina Totenberg would *get* it?

      Life is good, thanks-hope you’re feeling better and thanks for the Un-PC holiday wishes.
      🙂

  5. BTW….That was emailed to me and I LMAO and had
    to share with BJ cause she shares all her funny stuff
    with me and she has some funny stuff.

  6. Barbara just sent me a beautiful Mass card – I have scanned that in in place of the original graphic – thanks you Batbata both for the piece which is all too true and for the mass card which I have included to show that PC sucks!

  7. We can all use a prayer and we can all certainly us
    A lot of PEACE on Earth…I will remember you at my
    Christmas Day mass BJ and Lousia and each and evryone
    Of you here.
    PEACE.
    I got a card from the Clintons BUT not the Obamas
    Prehaps Barack and Michelle read the blog!!
    Michelle is in Hawaii with the girls and friends and family I heard
    Her leaving last week before Obama cost us 68,OO0
    Must be nice!!!
    Merry Christmas Michelle from the Unemployed and Homeless

  8. I’m wishing all of you a very merry and blessed Christmas!!!

    I don’t do PC.. 🙂

  9. Hey Goofsmom
    What you all doing for Christmas? I bet you’re cooking
    I was lol thinking of Goofs climbing your Christmas tree
    Like the video you posted
    So wishing You all a Merry Blessed Christmas and
    Lots of love

  10. It makes me feel a bit Christmassy to see you all here- Thank you – things haven’t been the same without my kids. We Italians mourne and I was hoping to bring Louisa home for a few hours and finally got the doctor to give her a pass but her miserable husband has refused!

    This could be her Grandparents last Christmas and the miserable Beast doesn’t even go to see her on Jolidays- the buses don’t run – he has no car – no job – no interest except to hold on to Guardianship like a bill of sale!

    Please pray he tires of that soon and release her to her loving family. She is not chattle to us! Pray Jesus please – we want our Louisa back in our loving arms and home with us on holidays – I have worked hard every day for 2 years to get her to this point!

    Merry Christmas and thanks you friends – for without your support day after day and on the radio –
    I would be lost- you have no idea just how much I depend on my friends for support!
    May God bless you all!

  11. I am praying for this too BJ. Very, very hard and keeping a candle lit. A real one.

    God’s blessings and peace on you too BJ. I am having a happy at home Christmas this year because of your caring and support.

    You really matter to this little starfish!!! xoxoxoxo

  12. I am not sure about the fish – but you are my shining star!

  13. 😀

    Have you read the Starfish story? I love it. Helps keep me inspired.

  14. Hey hey a party and I feel asleep..dozing when I can
    Bj I got a whole church praying for you and Louisa
    And my friend LIz too.
    Goofs opens presents that’s funny. I never had a cat
    Just dogs..Jack here just ate my boots and a glove
    He is sooooo bad but cute as can be.
    Bj you have a dog?

  15. Barbara,

    I had dogs as I was growing up. Never had a cat before so all of this is new to me.

    Goof loves gift bags, first he rips out all the tissue paper, then climbs in the bag to hide or sleep. Of course after he pushes the present out.

    Tee hee.

  16. I have a Pappilion she weighs 4 Lbs and is smart as can be – she plays hide and seek with with – her name is Rhumba and she is 10.

    Rumba

    When she wants to play she pretends to be a bull. Imagine this little fluff ball stamping like a bull ?

    Then she barks at me telling me she wants to play and it must be now.

    I tell her “ok go cover your eyes” and she heads for the bedroom jumps on the bed and sticks her lil head under the pillow till I have hidden.

    Then I yell – “Hidding!”

    She comes out and looks till she finds me then happily jumps up and down as if to say ” I found you — I found you ” then does her lil dance and shows she wants to do it again.

    We do this about 3-5 times then its her turn to hide.

    For some reason she only has one hiding place and that is in the closet behind the long clothes so I take my time finding her.

    She loves this.

  17. I love the Pappilion they are so beautiful my neighbor
    In FL had one LUCY when she came in the house
    She would yell Lucy I ‘m home her sister had Ethel LOL
    But the hide and seek game sounds hysterical
    I had a Gismo he was a bichon all white powder puff
    God I miss him he would stand on hind legs and wave
    With his front paws. I love animals they’re great company
    And don’t talk back and love ya no matter what.

  18. So she’s smart cause she hides behind the long
    Clothes.
    OMG I see the photo now Rhumba is so beautiful
    How sweet she’s tiny huh?
    Ohhh give her a kiss from me.
    And Goofs MEOWRY Christmas to you

  19. Awwwwww Gizmo is such a cute name. and I love Lucy and Ethel.
    Mom has the Black and White Pap upstairs her name is Cher.

    They get along great.

    And Yes she has been great company for me.
    Mom got her for me after I lost Mikie- she soothed my soul.

    Rumba and Cher are cousins. There mothers were sisters and both Champion show dogs.

  20. Cher is big and fat and very fluffy but Rumbie is little – thin and runs like the wind.
    Cher lays down to eat and eats everything in sight. Rumbie has to be forced to eat. She follows me everywhere is a bit sysfunctional and cries like crazy when I leave.
    at 8 PM she goes to the door and sits there crying real tear toill I get home from Louisa’s .
    On Tuesdays – I go to the Movies so for 90 minures she cries real tears even if mom pets her .
    She just runs to the full view door looking for me. I can’t even go to the bathroom without her following me- I feel loved .
    She has what they call seperation anxiety. She sticks by my side except to play hide and seek.
    If I hide too good – she cries.

  21. I want to see Goofs – send pictures!

    I want to see Christmas trees too send pictures.
    I put up a tree in Louisa’s room! I will send a picture.

    I also put one up home thinking I was bring her home for a few hours.

    But there could be a miracle yet! Keep praying-anything is possible!

    Meanwhile let’s keep blogging – it makes me happy!

    BTW- Go check out the stomach turners- what a group!

  22. Sending you a picture of Goof… I want to find just the right one… 😀

  23. Oh cool way cool.
    I can’t wait.
    BTW- i just put rating up.
    Go rate the last few posts before the stomach turners rate them 1 star – ok?

  24. Awh poor little thing that’s sad. I took Giz all over with$me.
    I owned a Limo company and I didn’t drive then so
    I had a white stretch limo for my use me an giz would
    Ride around his head out he window we would go through
    McDonald and I would order him a happy meal LOL
    Yes he would cry when I had to leave him and so
    Would I. When I worked for TWA he had a First class seat
    Where ever we went…yes he was spoiled but Hey
    He also visited nursing homes and DV shelters so
    He did good cause everyone loved him

  25. Awhhhh how cute.

    Its only sad for Rumbie when I leave her – she sure hates that. but she has learned to enjoy mom for a few hours while I am with Louisa but she sure knows when it is 8 PM. Does she ever.
    As I have been retired and work from home ever since I have had her – she has never had to do without me and so it has been ok for her.
    Before we came to NJ – we lived in the country so we had lots of land and she loved to run the acrage now we are on a postage stamp but as long as she is with me – she doesn’t care a bit.

    She doesn’t like to travel like Gizmo. So when we came to NJ every few weekend- I had to take her to Wendy- drive-in she likes the single and loves the fries!

  26. BJ, You have mail. 🙂

  27. I read the rants. Keep on being strong.

  28. Here’s Goof
    Goof

  29. Hahahaa Giz loved French fries and salami..really
    Only people food he got except when he got sick
    He had congestive heart failure for 6 months I I’d
    Cook special for him.
    Have you tried leaving an article of your
    Clothing out for Rhumba when you leave? That worked for
    Me.
    Anyway need to charge my battery phone as well as
    My own

    Goodnight sweet dreams

  30. G’nite ladies – I need some sleep too – see you all tomorrow – I hope! Love you much!

  31. Sweet dreams Barbara. muuuuah

  32. East coast sisters are going to bed now – send me a link for the starfish story for tomorrow.
    G’nite my dear on the west end of our plot of land!

  33. I LOVE GOOFS….Handsome guy

    Sweet dreams Gofsmom too

  34. Nighty-night BJ. 🙂

  35. Dont forget the like button and the 5 stars ! nite all!

Leave a Reply

