Because you asked “Oh what a beautiful morning”

By: It’s Me Louise

I was born a very cold December morning in 1925, prematurely. The doctor told my father “this one is too small- let her go, you have other children”.

“Noooooooo, no” said Tata. “Noooooooo, no”. My father put me in a shoe box and placed me behind the stove to keep me warm only taking me out for Mimma to feed me and back behind the stove I would go. I guess it was like an incubator and Tata kept me alive. Mimma had lost the first Mary, first Mikie and first Tessie already and now there were just four of us – me Louise, I was the baby for now, Battista would come later.

There is quite a story about me Louise and Battista – well about our names anyway. You see for hundreds of years mother and daughter in our family name their daughters this way. My mother’s name is Battista and so is my daughter’s name and so is my grandmothers. Likewise my grandmother and her grandmother and my granddaughters and so on are all named Louisa. As I said this Battista Louisa thing goes back for hundreds of years. Of the 9 or ten my mother’s surviving children that I knew and loved we were 6 , Sammy, Mary, Mikie, Tessie, Louise called Louisa and Battista.

Sammy was the oldest but I lost my brother when I was about 7, in 1932. Sammy was tall, strong and good looking like Tata. He was the oldest boy and the apple of the family’s eye. I was too young to know the whole story but it was during the Depression we were poor and from what I can make out from the stories I overheard a young Italian man in Lodi, NJ got involved in bootlegging and somehow wound up under a train.

Mimma was never the same after that. Italian mothers put on the black and they mourn till they die – at least my mother did. Oh she was a good mother – she was a hard worker and I will tell you many stories but the heartache showed and she cried a lot. She did not let us suffer her pain but looking back I remember watching the light in her eyes go out. Tata and Mimma gave us a very good live regardless of the heartache and what I remember most I will be telling all about in my new series “Because you asked”.

In the winter we went to bed early but in the summer we sat on the porch singing Oh what a beautiful morning. I have happy memories and my daughter wants me to share them with you—after all I witnessed many firsts that many of you take for granted but for me where – Imagine that.

Stay tuned!

7 Responses

  1. Oh thank you Louise what a pleasure it is to read your
    Story. I can’t believe you started life in a box behinf the
    Stove.. Keep the coming

  2. We had a wood and coal burning stove placed about a foot away from the chiminy which was in the middle of our ground floor basement.
    The heat between the stove and chimminy floor was always very worm so I guess it must have served as an incubator for a couple months.
    My loving father kept watching the stove so it never ran cold that complete winter,his sleep was only an hour or so before he checked again to see that the heat was still going.

    My father was the greatest man that ever lived!He was the kindest and most devoted father , husband and humanitarian that he could be within his means.

    Each one of his children loved him for the greatness that he was to us all equally.

    My father passed away 40 yrs ago and I am still crying right now for him.

  3. (((((LOUISE))))))
    How blessed you were to have such a loving caring
    Man as your dad. Many of us here understand the
    How special that is for our dads are really the first
    Man we fall in love with and when they pass on we
    Carry that love forward….he lives in you and BJ.

  4. Louise,

    Oh my goodness, thank you so much for sharing your stories. It is so similar to the many stories I heard from my parents and grandparents when they were alive.

    I’m sending you lot’s of love and hugs for Christmas. I only sad that I can’t deliver them myself.

    I will be going over on Christmas Eve to visit my surviving family matriarch. My beloved Auntie Mae. She is 95 years old and the last surviving on my fathers side.

    Up to the time she turned 90, she would make us homemade Chicken and dumplings when we visited. She now gets tired very easily, but still lives at home with her daughter, granddaughter, great-granddaughter and great-grandson. We all treasure her.

    Just like I’m treasuring you. Bless you and thank you.

    xoxoxoxo

  5. Almost forgot…

    Your story struck a chord with me because my mother was born in 1926, she was premature and they used a dresser drawer for her bed.

    We lost her in April of last year, I’m crying with you.

  6. Momma computer is suffering from a virus we thing – but as soon as it is up and running she will answer.

    • Sorry to hear that… Is one of the grandson’s looking at it?

      I look forward to hearing from her when she can. I’m just happy having her here to chat with. Seeing as she is only a year older than my mom, I may just have to adopt her.

      xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

