World news from Louise 12/14

It’s me Louise

At 85, I have seen a lot of changes in my life some of which I enjoy sitting with BettyJean each afternoon recounting with her.

 I tell her what life was like during the last Depression and how it was growing up in a house without heat. Just today I told her how my mother heated rocks to put in our beds in the attic and how one winter morning – I called out to her to get me out of my bed. She called back than I should get myself out – but I was too little and the snow was too deep on my bed! Needless to say , my mother had to come dig me out of bed.

We didn’t have central heat or toilet or a tub let alone a computer but I have one now and I use it – a lot. I read about women all over the world and I have decided to share what I find out with all of you. I also read about atrocities  from all over the world – I want to share those too so we realize how much we have to lose here.

 So I am going to send you a snipit of each story and the link in case you might find it as interesting as I did. I am retired and enjoy hunting down these stories of interest- so  I will go find the stories and bring you my finds.

I hope you find these worthwhile. No matter how bad things were during the depression and how poor a family we were – we were happy – and we were Americans. My parents came on a boat from Italy – legally. They struggled.  I am proud to be an American where things can get better and they will when Americans get better at working at it!

Oh yeah – and I hope I live long enough to see a woman president in America, I am fascinated by all the countries that have women running them and I wonder why we are so far behind ? It’s not like we don’t have great women here… I think I will leave it at that!

From Morocco: Women rising to the challenges that a modern world brings

Published: Tuesday, December 14, 2010, 1:10 PM     Updated: Tuesday, December 14, 2010, 1:16 PM
http://www.mlive.com/living/jackson/index.ssf/2010/12/from_morocco_women.html

Women in Morocco are rising to the challenges that a modern world brings. Now more than ever they are making their mark on this country. However, there are still many realities that prove women still play a very traditional role. My best friend in town was married when she was 17, selected by a man roughly 15 years her senior when she was just 14. At age 23 now she has been married for six years and her husband restricts some things in her daily life in the name of Islam. She can not go out walking around town, because her husband would become jealous.

I’ve heard stories of girls being married at age 12 although under the revised family code known at Mudawana formed in 2004 it is not legal. I attended the wedding of a 19 year old girl getting married to a man several years older than her, who she had only met once or twice. I couldn’t wrap my head around the thoughts she must had been having but I could feel compassion as I looked at the shy and nervous look on her face.  

Pakistan teachers being killed, says Human Rights Watch
By Syed Shoaib Hasan
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-11981649

Human Rights Watch is the first international rights group to document how civilians are increasingly being targeted in Balochistan.
Its findings are based on testimonies and eyewitness accounts of relatives and colleagues of the victims. Hundreds of teachers have now asked to be transferred out of the province as the attacks increase in frequency.

Most of those targeted are from the Punjab province. They have been singled out as retaliation for alleged excesses by the Pakistan army, which is dominated by Punjabis. But local Sunni extremist groups allied to the Taliban have also been involved in the killings.

They have targeted members of the Shia sect, especially in the provincial capital Quetta. Pakistan’s government has been unable to control the violence so far, despite the deployment of additional security forces in Balochistan.

WTO backs US tariff on China tyres
China had complained to the WTO, the global trade watchdog, about the US’s move
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-11984940

The World Trade Organization (WTO) has ruled that the US was entitled to impose extra duties on Chinese tyre imports. Last year, President Obama imposed punitive duties of up to 35% on imports of Chinese-made tyres.

China called the move “protectionist” and had argued that the measures were not justified.But the WTO panel said in its ruling that the US “did not fail to comply with its obligations”.

US Trade Representative Ron Kirk said: “This is a major victory for the United States and particularly for American workers and businesses.”

Gaddafi wants EU cash to stop African migrants

Despite historical tensions Col Gaddafi has forged friendlier relations with Italy
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-11139345

Libyan leader Col Muammar Gaddafi says the EU should pay Libya at least 5bn euros (£4bn; $6.3bn) a year to stop illegal African immigration and avoid a “black Europe”. Speaking on a visit to Italy, Col Gaddafi said Europe “could turn into Africa” as “there are millions of Africans who want to come in”.

Italy has drawn criticism for handing over to Libya migrants it intercepts at sea, without screening them first. Far fewer now reach Italy from Libya.

We don’t know… what will be the reaction of the white and Christian Europeans faced with this influx of starving and ignorant Africans”

European Commission figures show that in 2009 the number of people caught trying to enter Italy illegally fell to 7,300, from 32,052 in 2008. The data was collected under the EU’s Eurodac fingerprinting system.

Col Gaddafi has forged close ties with Italy since a friendship treaty was signed two years ago. It sought to draw a line under historic bitterness between Libya and Italy, its former colonial master. “Tomorrow Europe might no longer be European, and even black, as there are millions who want to come in,” said Col Gaddafi, quoted by the AFP news agency.

China police probe Xinjiang ‘slave labour’ factory

By Michael Bristow BBC News, Beijing
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-pacific-11989414

Chinese police are investigating reports that a group of people with mental disabilities have been working in slave-like conditions. The 11 workers were apparently sold by an unauthorised charitable organisation to a factory in the country’s north-west. Reports say the workers were unpaid and lived in appalling conditions.

This is not the first time a case like this has been uncovered in China, where there are no independent trade unions. Media reports suggest the workers lived as virtual slaves. They were given no pay, no protective clothing and had not showered for years, according to the Global Times newspaper.

They apparently had to eat the same food as the factory owner’s dogs. One man said he twice tried to escape but was caught and badly beaten.

2 Responses

  1. Hi, World News from Louise. I don’t know if you are signed up for google daily word and phrase searches but you may really enjoy it. If you put “quotes” around your word phrase searches it can really help pinpoint specific types of articles you are looking for.

    The internet needs more curators, that is for sure, and this what you are doing when you search out certain types of stories and provide brief explanations along with links.

    Internet curation is the official name.

  2. It’s true. The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. :-)))

Leave a Reply

