Amy Siskind: Democrats have a Women Problem

BettyJean Kling

I just read a terrific piece by Amy Siskind over at the Huff post. She hits the nail right on the head explaining how the polls show women have learned that the DNC and Obama are not on their side. Of course she is right BUT I can’t help worrying about the women who voted for Obama because Hillary asked them to! I can’t help remembering the 18 million cracks that swore they would remain with Hillary and yet they caved in on election day rather than turn their backs on the party that left them.

Now here comes the DNC and Obama again trying to win us over. What was it they said after they mistreated us last time? Oh that right Rhamm said

Don’t worry about them—once they come to their senses they’ll get over and come home in November. Where else are they gonna go?

Then most of them did. And the DNC learned that the battered women always come back for more in the end!

Let’s hope Amy is right and history doesn’t repeat itself again. But watch for the Hillary move- its coming… they are about to use her again. Don’t let them. I think they have used and abused her enough!

Why Obama Really Went on The View
Why did President Obama choose to appear on The View? The answer is simple. The View’s audience is 79% female and Obama has a women problem. Obama’s approval among women voters has plunged from 59% to 45% during his term in office. Here’s a shocker: just one-third of white women approve of the president.

There are 3 major factors for this shift and Amy zeros right in on all three. I suggest you go over and read her piece well.

 We have come to realize all issues are “women’s issues”

Traditional feminists and women’s groups have sought to narrowly define issues that matter to women…

More recently, women are increasingly concerned about a broad set of policies.

The Democratic Party betrayed women

In 2008, we learned that equality of the gender variety had de minimis standing in the current Democratic Party.

In 2007-08, the Democratic Party fielded its first viable female presidential candidate. What ensued was a onslaught of horrific, shameful, overt sexism for which the Democratic Party was silent and in some cases complicit (if you forgot how bad it got, watch here.)

And as women increasingly feel betrayed, their loyalty and attachment to the Democratic Party has cooled.

Women need women representation

Until recently… the best way to better conditions for women was to elect politicians who would support women’s policies. The gender of the politician was secondary.

In the ensuing year, neither women nor women’s issues fared particularly well under President By early 2010, an article at BlogHer queried: Are Democrats Losing Their Hold Over Women? and noted: “Maybe women on the left are realizing that they are more than their uterus…Women are drawn to other women in leadership.”

Republicans seemed to sense this discontent and presented women with an alternative to the narrow-issued, male-represented version of Feminism embodied by the Ms. cover. The new vision is a broad-issued, women-represented, women-supporting-women, Pro-Women movement.

So while the DNC and Liberal women failed to back numerous qualified women running in 2010 primaries,  the RNC and conservative  women fielded and supported a bevy of qualified women. In the Year of the Woman, many of these Republican women are running to become historical firsts as governors (states include OK, SC, GA, NM and CA).

Only time will tell but the misogyny and sexism the 2008 election may have forever changed the political landscape. Millions of Democratic or Independent women voters no longer feel that they have a home in the Democratic Party.

The next election will be very telling. Women voters have decided every modern day presidential election. Many went home to the Democrats in spite of what happened and unless I am very wrong the DNC is planning to USE Hillary yet again to lure them back.

I love and appreciate Hillary however, she now also has a women problem as does the rest of the DNC. As the Majority we have a greater calling than to party! 18 million cracks aint nothing compared to 150 million majority population that deserves representation!

Can you hear us now?

9 Responses

  1. Yes, I remember Obama’s people saying “They will fall in line.” That pissed me off. First of all, there was no way I was voting for Obama – no matter WHO told me to and with that attitude – forget about it.

    The weekend before the general election, I was in PA campaigning for McCain/Palin. I ran in to a woman with a “Hillary Sent Me” sign. When she saw my “Democrat for McCain” sign, she was SHOCKED. She asked me, “What are you DOING? Don’t you know Hillary wants us to vote for Obama?” I told her I didn’t CARE WHO Hillary wanted me to vote for!!!

  2. yep ,I’m from Pa. and when I went in that voting booth.didn’t want to vote for MCcain ,for sure not obama so, I wrote in the name of a person I felt was best and that name was Hillary Clinton ,I know it was a vote thrown away but I just could not get in line like a good little girl!

  3. I did not fall in line, either. I did something I never did before, I voted for a Republican for president. I just could not stay with a party that treated it’s members the way Hillary and her supporters were treated. I have never regretted my decsion, especially with the way Obama leads(or more to the point,] his lack of leadership. We know everything we feared about him was, oh so true! I cannot wait for him to exit the WH, maybe we can get a real leader.

  4. I’m so glad I voted for Cynthia McKinney.

  5. Wow, I feel women quite admire Hillary Clinton.

    • Hillary is a woman to be highly admired. I admire her and I think she would have been a wonderful and historic president, however, she has shown herself to be a Democrat before an American.

      Perhaps she had to in order to best serve her country. I will never trust the DNC or anyone in that party ever again. I am not her judge but I can never again trust that she will put country before Party and therefore she has lost my vote in the future.

      I reserve, however, the right to change my mind based on the choices given at the time because I also don’t trust the other party equally as much! Two wings from the same vulture. What we need is voter imposed term limits- throw them all out and move in real patriots who are in it for the sake of the country not the party.

      Pollyanna? You betcha! Read the Constitution, the Bill of Rights and the Federalist papers. We are Americans First!

      BettyJean Kling M.S, M. Ed Founder: The Majority United http://www.TheMajorityUnited.com http://www.FreeMeNow.wordpress BTR. The Majority United Radio Mon 10 pm & Wed 9:30 pm Eastern Call-in Number: ( 347 ) 838-8011 http://www.blogtalkradio.com/FreeMeNow http://www.facebook.com/reqs.php#!/group.php?gid=112870418738402 Free US Now- “A victim’s first scream is for help; a victim’s second scream is for justice.” – Coral Anika Theill TMU IMAGINE Empowering Women To Unite & Mobilize !

      • Howard Dean and the Progressives, who have taken over the great Democratic Party, did this to us. The tag, ‘Progressive’ sold well in many electoral districts until it became clear that the Progressive Agenda ignored the will of the People, was pushed forcibly by a cult of young guys hell bent on hostile take-over of the Country with contempt for more than half the voters. “Beating the Female” WAS and remains the linchpin of their agenda. They put up a creep with Muslim / non-American roots who grew up in a police state where the males who were his role models hated women. He wrote of his mother, but in his books, he makes it clear that he didn’t love her, didn’t concern himself with her needs as a person, and certainly didn’t respect her.

  6. I forgot: Hillary 2012.

Leave a Reply

