Marriage between the sexes is a religious question not a legal one!


A federal district court judge recently ruled Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) unconstitutional, and the case may well get to the Supreme Court.

Please contact congress about the Respect for Marriage Act (H.R. 3567), which would fully repeal the discriminatory DOMA. Congress should make no law regarding religion, marriage between sexes is a religious question not a legal one. If any two persons can marry than every any two persons can marry and have the same benefits under the law! It is discrimination to do otherwise.

Background (Hat tip to NOW for the details )

On July 8, a federal district court judge in Boston ruled that the federal Defense of Marriage Act (DOMA) is an unconstitutional violation of a state’s ability to define marriage as well as a violation of the U.S. Constitution’s guarantee of equal protection. DOMA, passed by a Republican-controlled Congress in 1996, defines marriage only as occurring between one man and one woman in all federal laws. It denies federal marriage benefits to same-sex couples who legally marry and allows individual states to refuse to recognize same-sex marriages performed in other jurisdictions.

A longtime supporter of equal marriage, I personally opposed DOMA and find it to be a Religious based law which denies persons U.S. Constitution’s guarantee of equal protection.

Massachusetts Attorney General Martha Coakley filed one of the two cases involved in the recent decision. Thanks in part to Coakley’s inspired strategy, Judge Joseph L. Tauro ruled that DOMA violated both states’ rights and the Equal Protection Clause.

The Respect for Marriage Act (H.R. 3567), sponsored by Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-N.Y.) with 112 co-sponsors, is currently pending in the House. If passed, this act would fully repeal DOMA. Rep. Nadler called the court’s decision an “historic victory in the march toward marriage equality and a vindication of the core principle of equal protection under the law.”

Currently five states (Conn., Iowa, Mass., N.H., Vt.) and the District of Columbia recognize same-sex marriage. Progress is being made, but winning equal marriage in every state is only part of the goal. The federal government must also recognize same-sex marriages, otherwise these families will continue to be denied the more than 1,100 benefits, protections and responsibilities afforded to other married couples.


One Response

  1. Im surprised that THE BIB has not weighed in on this.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: