Memorial Day and The Ultimate Price

As I was putting my flag out for Memorial Day, a song came on the radio that most of us know and I think love.  That song is Lee Greenwood’s “I’m Proud To Be An American.”  I was struck by the chorus, “I’m proud to be an American where at least I know I’m free.  And I won’t forget the MEN who died and gave that right to me”.

This reminded me of a discussion I had a few years back with a Ranger/ Green Beret from the Vietnam War.  We discussed the issue of women serving in combat. He was totally against it and I accepted his reasoning but I said to him, “Until we allow women in combat and women are killed in combat they will always say we are not equal because we don’t have to pay the ultimate sacrifice.

”Well today many families visited the gravesites in Military Cemeteries of their sisters, their daughters, their mothers.  Many of these women did die in theatre, whether the government allows women to serve in combat or not,  women are there already. These women may not have died “officially” in combat but they have paid the ultimate sacrifice.

So now are we finally equal?

Leave a Reply

