Good Guy’s Tribute to Two Women – with Humor

Check out Full Story at National MS Research WalkMS 2010 – In a Dress and Heels

Quote from Corey Blake’s nationalmssociety.org page…

So to make this a little more interesting and maybe entertaining for you, I’ve decided to do something different for this year’s WalkMS. Last October, I read a story about an 84-year-old woman named Lan Yin “Eiko” Tsai who rides her old one-speed bike 150 miles for the New Jersey City to Shore event to raise money for MS. She’s been doing this for 26 years – always in a dress and heels. The article has this great picture of her in a green turtleneck dress and embroidered jacket. She is pretty inspiring. Then I started to think about the daily discomfort and struggles that people with MS go through every day. I see it in Nahleen [his wife] every day. Her courage and discipline are also inspiring. So I thought maybe I could make my 3-mile walk this April in Pasadena for WalkMS more reflective of that daily discomfort while at the same time paying tribute to Eiko and Nahleen. And at the same time, looking like a dork. I know I’m good at doing that

So I’m doing WalkMS in a dress and heels.

3 Responses

  1. I loved this and I love corey – what a guy – his wife is very fortunate to have found a great husband- she has MS and he is a great partner for her and others.
    he is inspiring . thanks kathy for placing this on the blog – we sure do need uplifting stories and this uplifted me! I also donated!

  2. As a fellow improv person, I think Corey is just the bomb! What an inspiration for others and how selfless to do this for his wife! He is a hero in my book!

  3. What a self-confident young man! Kudos to whoever raised him to be so.

Leave a Reply

