Bayh Cites Partisan Gridlock in Retirement Announcement

It’s unfortunate to see a Senator retire that has not only shown that he can work across the aisle, but clearly has a grasp of what is frustrating many Americans – bitter partisanship. In Senator Bayh’s address announcing his retirement he notes a political environment that has become nearly impossible to work within. Senator Bayh sees what many Americans see, a system that is putting party before country, or more simply, a system that is putting party before effectiveness. Kudos to Senator Bayh for calling out both parties on this problem, and here’s hoping he can help rectify the problem from outside Washington.

“After all these years, my passion for service to my fellow citizens is undiminished, but my desire to do so in Congress has waned,” he said.

“My decision was not motivated by political concern,” he added. “Even in the current challenging environment, I am confident in my prospects for re-election.”

Bayh had never lost an election, from his first win in 1986 as secretary of state, his wins for governor in 1988 and 1992 and his election to the U.S. Senate in 1998 and 2004.

“But running for the sake of winning an election, just to remain in public office, is not good enough,” Bayh said. “And it has never been what motivates me. At this time I simply believe I can best contribute to society in another way: creating jobs by helping grow a business, helping guide an institution of higher learning or helping run a worthy charitable endeavor.”

From IndyStar.com Evan Bayh will not seek re-election


Senator Bayh Takes A Shot At Bitter Partisanship As He Retires

5 Responses

  1. Thank you for the post. I was getting ready to try and write one but I am glad you did.
    I was very moved by his announcement and I am moved by your grasp of his reasons.
    Yes – this is a man who understands he works for us and could not do so in DC.
    I recall when he voted yes for that awful behind closed doors partisan Health Care bill. I was shocked that he went along with it and I remember thinking about Him in particular that day. Then my mind immediately flew from him to Hillary and I was happy she wasn’t in the Senate and forced to do the same thing. I think I wrote a piece on it that day or at least I talked about it.
    Bayh surprised me by falling into line as did Hillary when she didn’t quit the party at the end of the primary. He may not leave the party either but they both should! Both knew they could not remain in this SENATE but neither realizes it is the party itself that is TOXIC! It’s being in a party – either party – either R or D. Just being in either party that corrupts the politician. In order to get anything done one party has to be stronger than the other party and what we have is not representatives going to serve -We the People but team players going in to support their team. And support them – they will at all costs.
    The problem is – We the people – are paying the costs!
    Hillary left the Senate- Bayh left the Senate – many others left also but I think these two left for better reasons than did the rest- at least I would like to think so.
    “When you have decided what you believe, what you feel must be done, have the courage to stand alone and be counted…” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

  2. There are still more republicans who have announced intentions not to run for reelection.

  3. Looks like the dems are starting to realize their doom in November.

  4. Thanks for this post – the only thing Congress has done in a year is give itself a raise. It is a repulsive organization – on both sides of the aisle.

  5. You are so right. Imagine the nerve of giving themselves a raise? They really think we are stupid- just remember this in November and VOTE the BUMS out! Mickey Mouse can do better.

Leave a Reply

