In the land of the free and the home of the brave-redux

OriginallybPosted on January 1, 2009 by freemenow
Posted on by freemenow

Another rant by BettyJean Kling

For the first time in my life I am not so sure I am proud to be an American today.

  

I was sitting here at my computer having just come home from the hospital after hearing news that my daughter may never come out of her coma. I have been crying all the day long and I have no place to put these tears or this fury and as I sit here trying to make sense of it all. I read blog after blog and life is going on for others and it is politics as usual and my heart screams “what about Louisa?” Two weeks ago the blogs were full of her story and everyone was all about what could we do to stop this violence against women. Not just for Louisa and not just for Denise but for all women. Last night I posted 4 stories from one small county about violence against women.  I got one friggen comment, granted it’s a holiday- but it is no holiday for the abused and dying – trust me – we do not have a day to waste not a minute.

 

As I searched the blogs to see who else is writing about violence against women instead of the damned birth certificate that will never yield a damned change in Obama’s presidency, and searched the blogs to see who else is writing more about how to stop violence in the media and/or advertising instead of more about why we should not have funded the already funded bailout. I did manage to find one blog http://guerillawomentn.blogspot.com/ And the Number One Sexist Ad of 2008 Is. . .

 

 

 

This ad shows the following graphic of a gang rape intended to sell shoes to women. Are women actually buying these friggen Dolce and Gabbana shoes? Please tell me women are not actually supporting manufacturers who depict violence against women! What kind of a message are we sending men- that we like to be gang raped and pay big money to dress for it?

 ad22

 

 

The blog piece also referred to two other graphics worth showing.

 

 Channel’s ad has a wife beating scene 

 

ad12 

 

Cavalli has Pirates holding Machete’s to women’s throats.

ad31

 

 

Are we going to tolerate this? How long are we going to tolerate this? Would anyone else tolerate this? Would blacks tolerate their people in ads in nooses or a white women chaining up a black one as in the Remy martin ad shown below?

 

 Why do our women tolerate this or better yet why do we buy these products; Do we need this perfume Channel, do we need these Dolce and Gabbana shoes, or Cavalli products?

 

Let me point out a few more as found in a piece Huffington covered, Five Sexist Trends the Advertising World Just Can’t Shake http://www.huffingtonpost.com/alex-leo/five-trends-the-advertisi_b_149354.html

 

 

 

Alex Leo a female writer starts it off with this gem of an opening- I am not even going to touch that one it is so ridiculous first female top chef and all- hahahaha- wow that sure was a big year for us gals but she really does nail it on the five graphics – she is right on target – I suggest you read every word and then join our army and let’s get moving!!! These ads also include Remy Martin, BMW, Nikon and Mitchum.

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        A A few weeks ago I wrote about a Remy Martin on the subway they have plastered the ad74walls with posters depicting a white woman with a chain wound around her neck and a black woman “playfully” holding the chain in her mouth, as if about to yank it.  I got few if any comments on that post- why? where is the outrage- how many of you bought and gave Remy as gifts? 

 

 

 

 

these women are obviously putting on a show for an outsider, not having a passionate lesbian love affair for themselves. These types of ads gain traction in cultural periods of female advancement–capturing the fantasy of “putting us back where we belong.” 

 

 

 

 

  

ad52Not to be outdone Nikon is selling cameras by bringing us girl on girl action- or as Leo writes  regarding the camera giant “a staple of the photography world … should be held to a higher standard than Tila Tequila. There are many meanings to the term corporate responsibility and one of them is not to fetishize female sexuality.”

 

What message are we sending our youngsters about females?

 

 

 

 

Suddenly, in the background I hear the National Anthem — and as the Rose Bowl starts I quickly and automatically jumped up as always and there behind me my daughter rouses from her half sleep and she too jumps up and as we stand there with our hands over our hearts listening — as we always have — we notice something is not quite the same.

 

Something just does not feel quite right and as the anthem our voices trail off asn we find our selves repeating weakly “in the land of the free and the home of the brave”  we look into each other’s teary eyes and we hug each other and we know the land of the free and the home of the brave does not protect its women!

 

They protect criminals, untrustworthy politicians, each other for the right price but of all the human rights they claim to protect – they do not protect women nor do they even attempt to pretend to. Animals have more rights in this country and get better media coverage when mistreated then do the millions of slaughtered women. Where is the outrage from our women, from our mothers, from our sisters, from our daughters?

 

If the government and the media don’t care surely we do? Surely we care ? We are the majority of this population -we are the reproducers- surely we care-it is not normal for us not to care – it does not even make sense – it does not fit with survival- surely we care! Even wild animals care and try to defend and protect their own – what are we less than wild animals ? Please tell me we care? Are we lambs being quietly led to slaughter without so much as a whimper

 

So- for the first time in my life I am not so proud to be an American.  Hell- I am not sure I am very proud to be called woman if I am going to be one of a few ad61lone voices crying out for justice while the rest of womankind sits and lets them do this to us and our daughters. Is this how we want our daughters depicted?  If we do nothing then we have been part of sexualizing and/or slaughtering and killing every daughter who has ever been slaughtered because we have not risen en mass and said no more.

 

 

Please – Now is the time- I can not say this any more clearly- I did not think my daughter would lay dying from a gunshot to the head tonight – next it could be you or yours. Please stand with me now!

Free US Now. Boycott every damned product that uses sex to sell. Do it now!

 

 

Step 1– We need to list ever product that uses sex to sell women’s items and we need to boycott them NOW

 

 

 

I can not believe over a year later I am still begging women to listen and NOW is still pitching the same old crap and we have not moved one inch! Michelle is now proud to be an American  I have one less daughter and none of our daughters have any more dignity than when I last pitched that we stand up and demand our rights!

 

I started pitching this idea when NOW first started pitching liberation- you are now free! How’s that working out for ya?

3 Responses

  1. Honestly, women and men of integrity are going to have to start protesting in front of the stores selling that garbage and at the corporate headquarters, and more importantly at the “glamour events” such as the Oscars, Grammies, and Emmies where those soul-less firms promote their wares on “celebrity slaves.”

    A Boycott of all that evil marketing, promotion, and products is far overdue!

  2. I am ready when you are! Let’s go go go!

  3. By the way – I have missed you – you have been gone a long long time- why incognito?
    I sure could use someone like you ? You have great insights- come join us- we need you!
    Think about it!

Leave a Reply

